About Cullinan Park Conservancy

The Cullinan Park Conservancy was founded as a non-profit, tax-exempt corporation in late 2010 as a project of the tax-exempt Houston Parks Board. The Conservancy seeks to enhance and protect the natural beauty of Joseph S. and Lucie H. Cullinan Park at Oyster Creek, a 750- acre park in Sugar Land, Fort Bend Country on Hwy 6, just north of Hwy. 90A.

Conservancy Goals and Activities

Current efforts emphasize fundraising for development of trails, canoe launches, bridges and other means of better access to Cullinan Park. Past work has included surveying its vegetation and birdlife, planning for its trail and bridge renovations, arranging for park cleanups, and organizing photo contests about the park, its wildlife, landscapes, and visitors. included ensuring legal protections for the Park, preparing maps of the Park’s boundaries, vegetation and improvements, organizing plant surveys, partnering in cleanups, encouraging trail maintenance and bridge repairs, putting together photo contests, compiling bird checklists, and other efforts.

The Conservancy and You

Please join the Conservancy! We hope you will join us, and all the friends, visitors, and neighbors of Cullinan Park, who are working to make Cullinan Park a better place for people and wildlife for future generations. Please contact us, join in on Park events, and support the Conservancy!

The Conservancy Board

Board of Directors

Emeritus Board

Advisory Board

Gary Tuma

Nancy Davis Olson
Vice President

Robert Richter

Susie Goff
Secretary Communications Cmte. – Chair

Ann Hamilton
Immed. Past President, Development Cmte.

Betty Baitland

Mike Dobert

Wendy Kelsey
Director, Development Cmte.

Doug Lally

Kapil Mathur

Gay Thompson
Director, Development Cmte.

Emily Todd
Director, Development Cmte. – Chair

Mary Von Tungeln

John Garland

Chaille Hutcheson

Jessica Jubin

Dan Neale

David Todd

Jed Aplaca
Natural Resources Manager, Houston Parks and Recreation

Adrienne Barker
Director, Museum of Natural Science, Sugar Land

Jim Blackburn
Rice University

Bill Carr
Acme Botanical Services, Austin

Jonathan Day
Attorney, Andrew Kurth LLP

Harriet Garland
Community Volunteer

Benito Guerrier
Kirksey Architecture

Flo Hannah
Houston Audubon Society

Peter de Ipolyi, M.D.

Dee Koch
Director of Community Engagement, The George Foundation

Carran Cullinan Lane
Community Volunteer

David Lobpries
Natural Resource Scientist, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Tom Madonna
CPA/Former Board Treasurer

Regina Morales
President/CEO Central Fort Bend Chamber

Roksan Okan-Vick
Houston First

Kelly Reynolds

Cheryl Sedivec
Master Naturalist

Kim Sterling
Founder and President, Sterling and Associates